Our Governors

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the headteacher, staff and the local authority. Whilst the headteacher is, of course, responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

The governing body now consists of:

  • The headteacher
  • An elected staff governor
  • One appointed local authority governor
  •  Two elected Parent governors
  • Seven Foundation governors

The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The chair of governors is Mr A Bruce, who can be contacted via the school office.

Mr A Bruce

Chair of Governors

St Francis RC Primary School

Ellenbrook Close



M12 5LZ

© Copyright 2019 St Francis RC Primary School